Monday, 3 November 2014

Review of Her Perfect Game #2 by Shannyn Schroeder

Her Perfect Game #2
By Shannyn Schroeder 
Publication Date: 27th October 2014, 112 pages
Publisher: eKensington 
Genre: Romance, Erotica, Contemporary,
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Note: Suitable for 18+ readers, due to explicit contain and language

Amazon UK / Amazon US

Spring break is supposed to be a week of fun in the sun for three childhood friends about to graduate from college. But one of them is ready to get her game on somewhere else…
Charlie Castle is an expert archer and a fierce warrior—in her favorite video game, anyway. But college life was a program she couldn't quite master. To land a cybertech job without a degree, she's entering a "hackfest" over spring break—where she also hopes to meet the sweet gamer who's been flirting with her online. Instead, she runs into the hot guy who walked away years ago, and can't fight the desire that comes rushing back. 
Jonah Best has never gotten over Charlie, whose kisses were always as deliciously creative as her coding. But now that they're face to face again, he doesn't know how to admit that her online admirer is really him—or how to convince her that he's offering her a job for her incredible skills, not her sex appeal. Can Jonah cut through their communication glitches and persuade Charlie that the next level up for them should be forever?



I remember reading the very first book in the Hot & Nerdy Series and loving it so much I couldn't help but what to read about the other amazing characters that had a small part in the first book. So when I took part in a #sundaychallenge hosted by @ThisChickReads at the beginning of October, I knew what book I was going to read and I finished it in one sitting! 
Charlie is a lover of video games and love hacking into systems, so when she needs money and a job she knows she must risk it big to get results, entering the 'hackfest' seems like her only option. She knows her friends would never approve of what she is doing, so she decides to not to tell them though she does tell one person, having been talking to a guy online for the past year she feels that she can tell him anything if only she could finally meet him at the 'hackfest'.
Jonah is the person who taught Charlie how to hack years previous and then left as if she meant to him or so she thought. Going to the 'hackfest' wasn't something he planned but when his boss tell him to go and interact with fellow hackers and gaming lovers, he knows he will run into Charlie.
Coming face to face after several years, the passion and flirty nature is still present between them, something Charlie didn't expect. So, could spending time together chance her mind and his, Charlie knows that she can't risk her heart for a second time and then there is the guy she is talking to online, finally meeting him would be a dream come true but when life intervenes Charlie can't help but stand back and watch as her life changes and alters right in front of her eyes.
Her Perfect Game is an amazing book that takes you out of your element and into a world of codes and hacking that will make you see things you never expected. With its quirky characters, flirty banter and great video games, Her Perfect Game is a amazing addition to the Hot & Nerdy Series. I haven't read a book like Her Perfect Game before, but I was so surprised how much I loved it. 
If I had to sum this book up in three words, they would be Nerdy, Thrilling and Unique. 

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Wednesday, 22 October 2014

Review of Insomnia #1 by Bethany Bazile

Insomnia #1
By Bethany Bazile
Publication Date: 24 June 2014, 93 pages
Publisher: Kindle
Genre: Adult Fiction, Romance, Erotica
Format: Kindle
Source: Netgalley 
Note: Suitable for 18+ readers, due to explicit contain and language

Amazon UK / Amazon US


I was arrogant, pushy, controlling, and I was fine with that. What I couldn't control were my dreams. Memories haunted me there.
Even after over a decade, I found that I couldn't outrun them. Returning to the place they lived only seemed to trigger a landslide. I couldn't focus, couldn't sleep. Some people drank a warm cup of milk, cuddled up with a book, or threw back a couple shots.
Me?
I fucked my way to sleep.
Every single night I lost myself in pussy. For a long time it was the only way I knew to get to sleep. But lately it’s been getting less and less effective. I slept shorter periods of time before the dreams started.
There was only one hope for my insomnia and she was sexy, intelligent and unexpected. I wanted to exhaust myself in her sexy little body and let her soothe me to sleep.
The only problem… she was my therapist and I’d have to break her code of conduct and totally corrupt her before I made her mine.

Xander is use to getting what he wants from his career and his women. He uses sex as a way to forget about his problems but that can only work for so long. Xander normally calls Gabriella, his ex for her body but nothing else until she suggests he speak to someone. 
When Xander decides to meet with Dr Avery Shaw to talk about his problems, mainly his problems with women and his need to sleep with them just so he can sleep peacefully, he can't help be get drawn in by her, then again that maybe because he can't have her. Xander has had problems in his life, once a actor he is now a movie producer running from his past, one a secret that involved a member of his family, something that he can't forget, he thought coming back to California would help but life doesn't work like that, if anything it is even more complicated.
Dr Avery Shaw is a woman who stands for what she believes in but having a client like Xander challenges her in ways that she has never had before. But Avery has secrets, ones that she hides just like everyone else, so when she over steps her bounds and sleeps with her client, she knows that things will only get worse if Xander is involved and knows that it will not be long before her secrets are out in the open as well. 
Insomnia is a perfect first part of this amazing series that has secrets, lies, sex, passion and a shocking cliffhanger that will make you want to read the second part immediately.
If I had to sum this book up in three words, they would be Shocking, Passionate and Thrilling.

Another day, another book,

post signature

Thursday, 7 August 2014

Review of Maddie's Marine by Lynn Raye Harris

Maddie's Marine
By Lynn Raye Harris
Publication Date: 19th May 2013, 31 pages
Publisher: Smashwords
Genre: Romance, Adult Fiction
Source: Bought

Amazon UK / Amazon US

Newspaper reporter Maddie Forester once had a hot affair with Marine major Ryan Cavanaugh. 
But that was months ago, and Ryan wants nothing to do with her now.  
When they meet up by accident in Hawaii, they find out their affair isn't quite as final as either of them thought. 
It's still red-hot and sizzling! A (very) short story from USA Today bestselling author Lynn Raye Harris!  
Can Ryan ever forgive Maddie for her betrayal? 
Will Maddie ever win her Marine's heart, or is it hopeless?

Major Ryan Cavanaugh is a former Marine, Maddie Forester is the reporter that ruined his career. When Maddie came to the war zone where Ryan was fighting, she was there for a story, although it wasn't the one she told Ryan about. Instead she published a different story, one that told lies about him and the Marine's he was in charge of. 

Meeting in Hawaii was something they never expected to happen, Maddie is there for a story with her boss/maybe boyfriend, Ryan is there as a get away from his life. Running into Maddie has brought back the feeling he had for her and also the hurt he had for what she had done. 

Maddie feels guilty about the story she wrote, her boss wouldn't pull the story even though the facts were not entirely true. Maddie and Ryan had something, something passionate but lies, secrets and distance put the odds against them. 

Maddie's Marine is funny and complicated all at the same time, making it a great short story to read. With its strong and passionate characters, you will find yourself reading the last line before you even realise it. 

If I had to sum this book up in one word, it would be Tempting.  

Another day, another book, 

post signature

Wednesday, 6 August 2014

'Waiting On Wednesday' The First Time We Met by Pippa Croft

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Breaking The Spine
 It gives the chance to show new book release that are coming out soon. The book that I am looking forward to is: 
The First Time We Met by Pippa Croft
Publication Date: 9th October 2014
Publisher: Penguin
Genre: Erotic, Adult Fiction, Romance
Purchase: Amazon UK / Amazon US

The First Time We Met is the first novel in the sizzling new Oxford Blue romance series from Pippa Croft.
Senator's daughter Lauren Cusack is leaving Washington behind for the dreaming spires of Oxford University - and she's ready for a challenge. Now a fully-fledged Master's student, Lauren is determined to make the most of every single minute.
But then she meets Alexander Hunt, and everything changes.
A devastatingly handsome English aristocrat, Alexander is as brooding and enigmatic as they come. Lauren tries to resist his advances, but he has his sights clearly set on the young American, and what Alexander wants, he gets.
Caution soon gives way to mind-blowing passion and Lauren is drawn into Alexander's privileged world of glamour and status. But all that glitters is not gold - for Alexander is a man with a dark past, and desire may not be enough to conquer all else . . .








I spotted The First Time We Met on Amazon, so I decided to click to see what it was about. The story looks so amazing, with its strong independent characters I can't wait to read this new series. Also, it has everything I look for in a book romance, glamour and more importantly good looking male characters with hidden pasts. 


What book release are you most looking forward to? Add a comment to share your 'Waiting On' Wednesday or tell me on Twitter at @23reviewstreet


Another day, another book,


Review of Truly Irresistible #1 by Lucia Jordan

Truly Irresistible #1
By Lucia Jordan
Publication Date: 2nd April 2014
Publisher: Kindle
Genre: Erotic, Romance, Adult
Source: Bought
Note: Suitable for 18+ readers






This is the first book of the ‘Truly Irresistible’ Series. A seriously hot and provocative romance by Lucia Jordan, written in her signature style of high passion, searing depictions and emotion. 

A few months ago Raven had begun to fall in love with her best friend Jared Payne. Not that she dreamed she had a real chance with him. She’d seen the kind of women he’d been with and she didn’t pretend to come close. But did that keep her from dreaming? Foolishly, no. 

Now he was in a serious relationship that seemed to be going somewhere for the first time. Raven knew this would be her last chance to make her feelings known before she lost him for good. Or maybe it was wiser to keep things as they were. At least as his friend she could always have a place in his life, in his heart. So many lovers had come and gone from the sexy Jared’s bed and Raven didn’t want to be just another passing fancy for him. 

And yet, when temptation finally came calling, would Raven be strong enough to hold back? 

Raven and Jared have been best friends for years, but as time has gone by Raven has started to see Jared in a different light. Falling in love with her best friend was not what she planned, with Jared is in a relationship with a beautiful woman, the opposite of her, she knows she has no chance with him. So, when Jared tell Raven he plans to propose to his girlfriend, she knows she has well and truly missed her chance. All she can do now is plaster a fake smile on her face and hope that one day she will get over him. Although, life doesn't always go the way its planned and maybe in this case, it was that fate decided the future for them, instead of them doing it themselves.

Truly Irresistible is part of a four book series, from reading the first one I enjoyed Lucia Jordan's style of writing with the characters that hook you in, to the story that keeps you hanging on until the end. 

If I had to sum this book up in one word, it would be Thrilling.

Another day, another book, 

post signature

Friday, 25 July 2014

'Frisky Friday' #5 Aftershock by Sylvia Day

'Frisky Friday' is a weekly meme, that is being hosted by 23 Review Street...Masked. 'Frisky Friday' can consist of a review of a short novel, regular novel or telling everyone about a novel you are currently reading. 'Frisky' books would consist of new adult books, erotic books, books that contain friskiness in them or all of the above.

Aftershock #2
By Sylvia Day
Publication Date: 11th March 2014, 116 pages
Publisher: Cosmo Red Hot Reads (Mills & Boon)
Genre: Erotic, Romance, Contemporary 
Source: Bought

Amazon UK / Amazon US / Barnes & Noble

When it came to playing games, my lover Jax was a master strategist.  
He pulled strings behind the closed doors of D.C.’s most powerful political players, and somehow still found time to nearly sideline my career.  
What he didn’t know was that when I didn’t like the rules, I threw them out and made my own.  
I wasn’t going to let Jax get away with it. I wasn’t going to let him get away at all.
I loved Jax enough that it was impossible to give up.  Jax loved me enough that giving up was the only end he’d consider. 

He didn’t think I could swim with the sharks. It was entirely my pleasure to show him that I’d already dived in…

Aftershock starts where Afterburn ends, Gianna is in Atlanta working on the project for her boss, putting together a new restaurant for the three new up and coming chefs that will take over the kitchens. It doesn't take her long to realise that Jax has followed her from New York to Atlanta, unhappy with the way things were left between them, though it is Gianna's sister-in-law fault for telling him where she was in the first place.

Gianna knows that he has kept things, important things from her but when he turn up at her hotel room, she wants to yell at him but also wants to rip his clothes off at the same time. It doesn't take long for their relationship to change to something more, but with the change comes consequences linking to Chad.

Chad is one of the chef's who had grown closer to Gianna decides that he would like to deal with someone else, someone who isn't sleeping with the enemy. Though, Jax decides to meddle with her business once more without her knowing but it seems to help her this time. 

Gianna soon finds herself living in Jax Penthouse Apartment, though just because she's living in someone's home doesn't mean you live in their world. 

Jax seems to think that sex will solve all of their problems, but Gianna isn't like that, she wants answers, especially when she finds out that Jax's family has been using her father's business to influence their political campaign. Jax's family has a lot of power, power that she doesn't want involved with her family's successful business. 

They both have made mistakes, Jax's mistake was leaving two years previously and Gianna's was digging around in Jax's past as what she uncovered could cost her not only her happiness but also her future with Jax as well. 

When Jax finds out about what she has done, Jax is hurt by the trouble she has caused, though she has a way to fix it but it will not only effect her, but her family as well, using them as part of the deal is not what she wanted but the love she feels for Jax outweighs anything else in her life.

Aftershock is an excellent second book to follow on for Afterburn, with even more secrets, lies and an epic conclusion to Gianna and Jax's story. Afterburn and Aftershock are both incredible books to read that I would recommend to anyone who loves a story that has passion, sex and most of all a love story that is very unique in it own way.

If I had to sum this book up in three words, they would be Exciting, Charming and Outstanding

Another day, another book,

post signature

'Frisky Friday' #4 Afterburn by Sylvia Day

'Frisky Friday' is a weekly meme, that is being hosted by 23 Review Street...Masked. 'Frisky Friday' can consist of a review of a short novel, regular novel or telling everyone about a novel you are currently reading. 'Frisky' books would consist of new adult books, erotic books, books that contain friskiness in them or all of the above.

Afterburn #1
By Sylvia Day
Publication Date: 11th March 2014, 119 pages
Publisher: Cosmo Red-Hot Reads (Mills & Boon)
Genre: Erotic, Romance, Contemporary 
Source: Bought

Amazon UK / Amazon US / Barnes & Noble


The realization that Jax still affected me so strongly was a jagged pill to swallow. 
He’d only been part of my life for five short weeks two years ago. 
But now he was back. 
Walking into a deal I’d worked hard to close. 
And God, he was magnificent. 
His eyes were a brown so dark they were nearly black. Thickly lashed, they were relentless in their intensity. Had I really thought they were soft and warm? 
There was nothing soft about Jackson Rutledge. 
He was a hard and jaded man, cut from a ruthless cloth.
In that moment I understood how badly I wanted to unravel the mystery of Jax. 

Bad enough that I didn't mind how much it was going to cost me...

Gianna Rossi is a very smart woman, comes from a good family who own an amazing restaurant in New York and knows what she wants in her future. That is until she meets Jax Rutledge in Vegas, two weeks of meaningless sex on his part, makes Gianna fall in love with him, just for him to walk away like it meant nothing to him.

Gianna realises that to him, it was a game and in the end she had lost and he had won. She decides that no one will make her feel that way again, throwing herself into her career, it doesn't take her long to get her dream job, a chance to work with one of the best chefs in New York, suddenly things are looking up for her.

Two years down the line, things are still looking good for Gianna with a job she loves and a life she is happy with, when Jax Rutledge strolls back into her perfect life. He is just the same man she remembered, handsome with good looks and a presence that could utter her speechless. 

Although, coming back into her life isn't enough, he has to slowly start ruin her career in the process, with them on two different sides things start to become difficult. 

Jax Rutledge always gets his only way, he like to control everything coming from a political family it is to be expected that he has to be cocky and demand everything be done his way.

Though, no matter how much Gianna resists him, the passion and desire they have drives them to have sex everytime they meet, it is almost as if they are meant to be together but everything seems to complicated and not everyone agrees with their relationship. 

Although, life isn't always as simple not in the world of politics anyway, Gianna wants to know the real Jax, not the one in the public eye but he refuses to tell her, making her realise that if she is going to find out his secrets and the real him then she will have to do her own research, to finally uncover the secrets that Jax and the Rutledge family are hiding. 

Afterburn is a sizzling novel that I couldn't put down, with its passion, sex and an undeniable connection that Jax and Gianna have, it is one of the best books I have read this year by far. 

If I had to sum this book up in three words, they would be Passionate, Captivating and Thrilling. 

Another day, another book, 
post signature